Why I Copy other People’s Writings

You probably came to this page via a link in my CodeIgniter category of posts. The reason I put that link there is because I’ve found myself copying the CI User’s Guide.

I like to copy other people’s writings. I know my High School English teacher wouldn’t approve of this—neither would all the litigious people out there.

However, the way I learn stuff is by copying and annotating learning material. Sometimes, I rephrase things to better suit my way of thinking.

I don’t always share my plagiaristic posts with everyone on the Internet. But, when I do it’s because I believe it will benefit others—and, I’m hoping it’s author doesn’t mind.

BTW:
If you are looking at one of my just published posts, and it looks almost the same as the original author’s writing, it’s because I haven’t annotated and paraphrased it yet.

If you’re asking why I don’t write my own material, my answer is:

It takes me too long already to learn all the stuff I need to learn in order to play catch-up with other programmers…and you want me to come up with my own material just so I can legally share my learning experience with others who are teaching themselves just like me?

Heck! Sometimes the stuff I copy remains on my site exactly the same as its author wrote it just so I’ll have it where I can find it.

About samehramzylabib

See About on https://samehramzylabib.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in CodeIgniter. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Why I Copy other People’s Writings

  1. Pingback: Lubuntu cont’d – add MySQL | Sam's PHP How-To

  2. Pingback: Lubuntu cont’d — add PHP | Sam's PHP How-To

  3. Pingback: My Lubuntu install on laptop | Sam's PHP How-To

  4. Pingback: Auto-loading Resources in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  5. Pingback: Hooks – Extending CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  6. Pingback: Creating Core System Classes in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  7. Pingback: Drivers in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  8. Pingback: Creating Libraries in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  9. Pingback: Libraries in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  10. Pingback: Helper Functions in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  11. Pingback: Models in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  12. Pingback: Views in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  13. Pingback: CI Basics Tutorial (Controllers, Views and Routing) | Sam's PHP How-To

  14. Pingback: CI Tutorial: Writing to Database | Sam's PHP How-To

  15. Pingback: CI Models – Tutorial | Sam's PHP How-To

  16. Pingback: CI URI Segments | Sam's PHP How-To

  17. Pingback: Reserved Names in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  18. Pingback: Reserved Method Names for CI Controllers | Sam's PHP How-To

  19. Pingback: Class Constructors for CI Controllers | Sam's PHP How-To

  20. Pingback: Organizing Your Controllers into Sub-folders in CI | Sam's PHP How-To

  21. Pingback: Private Methods in CI Controllers | Sam's PHP How-To

  22. Pingback: Processing Output from a CI Controller | Sam's PHP How-To

Comment

